Dungeness nuclear power plant
Dungeness nuclear power plant is a nuclear site in United Kingdom with 5 units on record. None is currently operating.
Units
| Unit | Status | Type | Model | Gross MW | Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit A1 | Retired | GCR | MAGNOX | 230 | 1965 |
| Unit A2 | Retired | GCR | MAGNOX | 230 | 1965 |
| Unit B1 | Retired | GCR | AGR | 615 | 1985 |
| Unit B2 | Retired | GCR | AGR | 615 | 1989 |
| Unit C | Cancelled | - | - | 1,650 | - |
Unit by unit
Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.
Dungeness nuclear power plant A1 Retired
| Reactor type | Gas-cooled reactor (GCR) |
|---|---|
| Model | MAGNOX |
| Size class | Small |
| Gross capacity | 230MW |
| Net capacity | 225MW |
| Thermal output | 840MWt |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium to 2.5–3.5% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Owner | Nuclear Decommissioning Authority (United Kingdom)100% |
| Operator | Magnox |
| Construction start | 1 Jul 1960 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 1 Jun 1965 |
| Grid connection | 21 Sep 1965 |
| Commercial operation | 28 Oct 1965 |
| Permanent shutdown | 31 Dec 2006 |
Dungeness nuclear power plant A2 Retired
| Reactor type | Gas-cooled reactor (GCR) |
|---|---|
| Model | MAGNOX |
| Size class | Small |
| Gross capacity | 230MW |
| Net capacity | 225MW |
| Thermal output | 840MWt |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium to 2.5–3.5% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Owner | Nuclear Decommissioning Authority (United Kingdom)100% |
| Operator | Magnox |
| Construction start | 1 Jul 1960 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 1 Sep 1965 |
| Grid connection | 1 Nov 1965 |
| Commercial operation | 30 Dec 1965 |
| Permanent shutdown | 31 Dec 2006 |
Dungeness nuclear power plant B1 Retired
| Reactor type | Gas-cooled reactor (GCR) |
|---|---|
| Model | AGR |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 615MW |
| Net capacity | 545MW |
| Thermal output | 1,500MWt |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium to 2.5–3.5% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Owner | EDF Energy Ltd100% |
| Operator | EDF Energy |
| Construction start | 1 Oct 1965 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 23 Dec 1982 |
| Grid connection | 3 Apr 1983 |
| Commercial operation | 1 Apr 1985 |
| Permanent shutdown | 7 Jun 2021 |
Dungeness nuclear power plant B2 Retired
| Reactor type | Gas-cooled reactor (GCR) |
|---|---|
| Model | AGR |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 615MW |
| Net capacity | 545MW |
| Thermal output | 1,500MWt |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium to 2.5–3.5% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Owner | EDF Energy Ltd100% |
| Operator | EDF Energy |
| Construction start | 1 Oct 1965 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 4 Dec 1985 |
| Grid connection | 29 Dec 1985 |
| Commercial operation | 1 Apr 1989 |
| Permanent shutdown | 7 Jun 2021 |
Dungeness nuclear power plant C Cancelled
| Reactor type | not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Model | not disclosed |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,650MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | not established |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Cancelled | 2017 |
| Owner | EDF Energy Ltd100% |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Dungeness nuclear power plant in context
The 4 units with both construction and grid dates on record took 5.2 to 20.2 years (median 11.4) from construction start to grid connection; the median across all reactors connected in the 1980s is 7.3 years.
Build time by unit
| Unit | Construction start | Grid connection | Years | Fleet median, same decade |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit A1 | 1960 | 1965 | 5.2 | 5.0 (1960s) |
| Unit A2 | 1960 | 1965 | 5.3 | 5.0 (1960s) |
| Unit B1 | 1965 | 1983 | 17.5 | 7.3 (1980s) |
| Unit B2 | 1965 | 1985 | 20.2 | 7.3 (1980s) |
How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.
| Location | Folkestone and Hythe District, England, United Kingdom |
|---|---|
| Coordinates | 50.9139, 0.9620approximate |
| Elevation | not given: the position is only approximate |
| Setting | not given: the position is only approximate |
| Region | Northern Europe |
| Units by status | Retired: 4 Cancelled: 1 |
| Owners | Nuclear Decommissioning Authority (United Kingdom) EDF Energy Ltd |
|---|---|
| Operators | Magnox EDF Energy |
Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data