Gravelines nuclear power plant
Gravelines nuclear power plant is a nuclear power station in France with 6 operating units totalling 5,706 MW gross. The site has 8 units on record in total.
Units
| Unit | Status | Type | Model | Gross MW | Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | PWR | CP1 | 951 | 1980 | |
| Unit 2 | PWR | CP1 | 951 | 1980 | |
| Unit 3 | PWR | CP1 | 951 | 1981 | |
| Unit 4 | PWR | CP1 | 951 | 1981 | |
| Unit 5 | PWR | CP1 | 951 | 1985 | |
| Unit 6 | PWR | CP1 | 951 | 1985 | |
| Unit 7 | Announced | PWR | EPR2 | 1,650 | 2039 |
| Unit 8 | Announced | PWR | EPR2 | 1,650 | 2039 |
Unit by unit
Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.
Gravelines nuclear power plant 1
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | CP1 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 951MW |
| Net capacity | 910MW |
| Thermal output | 2,785MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Framatome |
| Owner | Electricité de France SA100% |
| Operator | Electricité de France |
| Construction start | 1 Feb 1975 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 21 Feb 1980 |
| Grid connection | 13 Mar 1980 |
| Commercial operation | 25 Nov 1980 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Gravelines nuclear power plant 1
Gravelines nuclear power plant 2
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | CP1 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 951MW |
| Net capacity | 910MW |
| Thermal output | 2,785MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Framatome |
| Owner | Electricité de France SA100% |
| Operator | Electricité de France |
| Construction start | 1 Mar 1975 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 2 Aug 1980 |
| Grid connection | 26 Aug 1980 |
| Commercial operation | 1 Dec 1980 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Gravelines nuclear power plant 2
Gravelines nuclear power plant 3
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | CP1 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 951MW |
| Net capacity | 910MW |
| Thermal output | 2,785MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Framatome |
| Owner | Electricité de France SA100% |
| Operator | Electricité de France |
| Construction start | 1 Dec 1975 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 30 Nov 1980 |
| Grid connection | 12 Dec 1980 |
| Commercial operation | 1 Jun 1981 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Gravelines nuclear power plant 3
Gravelines nuclear power plant 4
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | CP1 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 951MW |
| Net capacity | 910MW |
| Thermal output | 2,785MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Framatome |
| Owner | Electricité de France SA100% |
| Operator | Electricité de France |
| Construction start | 1 Apr 1976 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 31 May 1981 |
| Grid connection | 14 Jun 1981 |
| Commercial operation | 1 Oct 1981 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Gravelines nuclear power plant 4
Gravelines nuclear power plant 5
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | CP1 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 951MW |
| Net capacity | 910MW |
| Thermal output | 2,785MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Framatome |
| Owner | Electricité de France SA100% |
| Operator | Electricité de France |
| Construction start | 1 Oct 1979 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 5 Aug 1984 |
| Grid connection | 28 Aug 1984 |
| Commercial operation | 15 Jan 1985 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Gravelines nuclear power plant 5
Gravelines nuclear power plant 6
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | CP1 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 951MW |
| Net capacity | 910MW |
| Thermal output | 2,785MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Framatome |
| Owner | Electricité de France SA100% |
| Operator | Electricité de France |
| Construction start | 1 Oct 1979 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 21 Jul 1985 |
| Grid connection | 1 Aug 1985 |
| Commercial operation | 25 Oct 1985 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Gravelines nuclear power plant 6
Gravelines nuclear power plant 7 Announced
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | EPR2 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,650MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Framatome |
| Owner | Electricité de France SA100% |
| Operator | Electricité de France |
| Commercial operation | 1 Jan 2039 |
|---|
Gravelines nuclear power plant 8 Announced
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | EPR2 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,650MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Framatome |
| Owner | Electricité de France SA100% |
| Operator | Electricité de France |
| Commercial operation | 1 Jan 2039 |
|---|
Gravelines nuclear power plant in context
By gross operating capacity Gravelines nuclear power plant is the 1st largest of 18 operating nuclear sites in France, holding 9% of the country's operating capacity, and ranks 9th of 172 worldwide.
Its operating units started up between 1980 and 1985; the median unit is 45.0 years old, older than the median of 41.0 in France.
The 6 units with both construction and grid dates on record took 4.9 to 5.8 years (median 5.2) from construction start to grid connection; the median across all reactors connected in the 1980s is 7.3 years.
The nearest other tracked nuclear sites are Borssele nuclear power plant (120 km), Penly nuclear power plant (133 km) and Sizewell nuclear power plant (138 km).
Build time by unit
| Unit | Construction start | Grid connection | Years | Fleet median, same decade |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | 1975 | 1980 | 5.1 | 7.3 (1980s) |
| Unit 2 | 1975 | 1980 | 5.5 | 7.3 (1980s) |
| Unit 3 | 1975 | 1980 | 5.0 | 7.3 (1980s) |
| Unit 4 | 1976 | 1981 | 5.2 | 7.3 (1980s) |
| Unit 5 | 1979 | 1984 | 4.9 | 7.3 (1980s) |
| Unit 6 | 1979 | 1985 | 5.8 | 7.3 (1980s) |
Nearest tracked nuclear sites
| Site | Country | Distance | Operating GW gross |
|---|---|---|---|
| Borssele nuclear power plant | Netherlands | 120 km | 0.5 |
| Penly nuclear power plant | France | 133 km | 2.8 |
| Sizewell nuclear power plant | United Kingdom | 138 km | 1.3 |
How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.
Earthquakes nearby
Loading the latest USGS check…
| Time (UTC) | Mag | Depth | Epicentre | Distance |
|---|
Magnitude 4.0 and above within 200 km of Gravelines nuclear power plant's listed coordinates, past 30 days. This is distance, not shaking: it says nothing about damage or any change in operation. Every plant.
| Location | Hauts-de-France, France |
|---|---|
| Coordinates | 51.0141, 2.1332 |
| Elevation | about 5 mabove sea level |
| Setting | On the sea coast, 0.6 km from the water |
| Region | Western Europe |
| Units by status | Operating: 6 Announced: 2 |
Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (SRTM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.
| Owners | Electricité de France SA |
|---|---|
| Operators | Electricité de France |
Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data