Skip to content

Hinkley Point nuclear power plant

Hinkley Point nuclear power plant is a nuclear site in United Kingdom with 6 units on record. None is currently operating.

Operating1Under construction1Retired5circle area ∝ site capacity Coastlines, borders and lakes: Natural Earth (1:10 million, public domain), which is generalised, so a coastal plant can sit a couple of kilometres off its true shoreline. Site positions: Global Nuclear Power Tracker.
Units on record
6
Operating
0
Operating capacity
not disclosed

Units

UnitStatusTypeModelGross MWOnline
Unit C1 Under construction PWR EPR-1750 1,720 2030
Unit C2 Under construction PWR EPR-1750 1,720 2031
Unit A1 Retired GCR MAGNOX 267 1965
Unit A2 Retired GCR MAGNOX 267 1965
Unit B1 Retired GCR AGR 655 1978
Unit B2 Retired GCR AGR 655 1976

Unit by unit

Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.

Hinkley Point nuclear power plant C1 Under construction

Reactor typePressurised water reactor (PWR)
ModelEPR
Size classLarge
Gross capacity1,720MW
Net capacity1,630MW
Thermal output4,524MWt
Enrichment3–5% U-235
NSSS vendorFramatome
OwnerChina General Nuclear100%
EDF Energy
OperatorEDF Energy
China General Nuclear
Construction start11 Dec 2018
Commercial operation1 Jan 2030

Hinkley Point nuclear power plant C2 Under construction

Reactor typePressurised water reactor (PWR)
ModelEPR
Size classLarge
Gross capacity1,720MW
Net capacity1,630MW
Thermal output4,524MWt
Enrichment3–5% U-235
NSSS vendorFramatome
OwnerChina General Nuclear100%
EDF Energy
OperatorEDF Energy
China General Nuclear
Construction start12 Dec 2019
Commercial operation1 Jan 2031

Hinkley Point nuclear power plant A1 Retired

Reactor typeGas-cooled reactor (GCR)
ModelMAGNOX
Size classSmall
Gross capacity267MW
Net capacity235MW
Thermal output900MWt
EnrichmentNatural uranium to 2.5–3.5% U-235no enrichment required
NSSS vendornot on record
OwnerNuclear Decommissioning Authority (United Kingdom)100%
OperatorMagnox
Construction start1 Nov 1957
First criticality1 May 1964
Grid connection16 Feb 1965
Commercial operation30 Mar 1965
Permanent shutdown23 May 2000

Hinkley Point nuclear power plant A2 Retired

Reactor typeGas-cooled reactor (GCR)
ModelMAGNOX
Size classSmall
Gross capacity267MW
Net capacity235MW
Thermal output900MWt
EnrichmentNatural uranium to 2.5–3.5% U-235no enrichment required
NSSS vendornot on record
OwnerNuclear Decommissioning Authority (United Kingdom)100%
OperatorMagnox
Construction start1 Nov 1957
First criticality1 Oct 1964
Grid connection19 Mar 1965
Commercial operation5 May 1965
Permanent shutdown23 May 2000

Hinkley Point nuclear power plant B1 Retired

Reactor typeGas-cooled reactor (GCR)
ModelAGR
Size classLarge
Gross capacity655MW
Net capacity485MW
Thermal output1,494MWt
EnrichmentNatural uranium to 2.5–3.5% U-235no enrichment required
NSSS vendornot on record
OwnerEDF Energy Ltd100%
OperatorEDF Energy
Construction start1 Sep 1967
First criticality24 Sep 1976
Grid connection30 Oct 1976
Commercial operation2 Oct 1978
Permanent shutdown1 Aug 2022

Hinkley Point nuclear power plant B2 Retired

Reactor typeGas-cooled reactor (GCR)
ModelAGR
Size classLarge
Gross capacity655MW
Net capacity480MW
Thermal output1,494MWt
EnrichmentNatural uranium to 2.5–3.5% U-235no enrichment required
NSSS vendornot on record
OwnerEDF Energy Ltd100%
OperatorEDF Energy
Construction start1 Sep 1967
First criticality1 Feb 1976
Grid connection5 Feb 1976
Commercial operation27 Sep 1976
Permanent shutdown6 Jul 2022

Hinkley Point nuclear power plant in context

The 4 units with both construction and grid dates on record took 7.3 to 9.2 years (median 7.9) from construction start to grid connection; the median across all reactors connected in the 1970s is 5.4 years.

The nearest other tracked nuclear sites are Flamanville nuclear power plant (206 km).

Build time by unit

UnitConstruction startGrid connectionYearsFleet median, same decade
Unit A1195719657.35.0 (1960s)
Unit A2195719657.45.0 (1960s)
Unit B2196719768.45.4 (1970s)
Unit B1196719769.25.4 (1970s)

Nearest tracked nuclear sites

SiteCountryDistanceOperating GW gross
Flamanville nuclear power plantFrance206 km4.4

How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.

Site detail
LocationSomerset West and Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Coordinates51.2070, -3.1316
Elevationabout 15 mabove sea level
SettingOn the sea coast, 0.1 km from the water
RegionNorthern Europe
Units by status
Under construction: 2
Retired: 4

Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (SRTM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.

Owners & operators
Owners
Nuclear Decommissioning Authority (United Kingdom)
EDF Energy Ltd
EDF Energy
China General Nuclear
Operators
Magnox
EDF Energy
China General Nuclear

Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.

Sources

How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data

Try

Searches every page: 1,823 reactors, 592 plants, 158 fuel chain facilities, companies, designs, accidents and notes.