Skip to content

Oldbury nuclear power plant

Oldbury nuclear power plant is a nuclear site in United Kingdom with 5 units on record. None is currently operating.

Operating1Under construction1Retired6circle area ∝ site capacity Coastlines, borders and lakes: Natural Earth (1:10 million, public domain), which is generalised, so a coastal plant can sit a couple of kilometres off its true shoreline. Site positions: Global Nuclear Power Tracker.
Units on record
5
Operating
0
Operating capacity
not disclosed

Units

UnitStatusTypeModelGross MWOnline
Unit A1 Retired GCR MAGNOX 230 1967
Unit A2 Retired GCR MAGNOX 230 1968
Unit B1 Cancelled PWR AP-1000 1,100 -
Unit B2 Cancelled PWR AP-1000 1,100 -
Unit B3 Cancelled PWR AP-1000 1,100 -

Unit by unit

Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.

Oldbury nuclear power plant A1 Retired

Reactor typeGas-cooled reactor (GCR)
ModelMAGNOX
Size classSmall
Gross capacity230MW
Net capacity217MW
Thermal output730MWt
EnrichmentNatural uranium to 2.5–3.5% U-235no enrichment required
NSSS vendornot on record
OwnerNuclear Decommissioning Authority (United Kingdom)100%
OperatorMagnox
Construction start1 May 1962
First criticality1 Aug 1967
Grid connection7 Nov 1967
Commercial operation31 Dec 1967
Permanent shutdown29 Feb 2012

Oldbury nuclear power plant A2 Retired

Reactor typeGas-cooled reactor (GCR)
ModelMAGNOX
Size classSmall
Gross capacity230MW
Net capacity217MW
Thermal output660MWt
EnrichmentNatural uranium to 2.5–3.5% U-235no enrichment required
NSSS vendornot on record
OwnerNuclear Decommissioning Authority (United Kingdom)100%
OperatorMagnox
Construction start1 May 1962
First criticality1 Dec 1967
Grid connection6 Apr 1968
Commercial operation30 Sep 1968
Permanent shutdown30 Jun 2011

Oldbury nuclear power plant B1 Cancelled

Reactor typePressurised water reactor (PWR)
ModelAP-1000
Size classLarge
Gross capacity1,100MW
Net capacitynot disclosed
Thermal outputnot disclosed
Enrichment3–5% U-235
NSSS vendorWestinghouse Electric Company
Cancelled2019
OwnerHorizon Nuclear Power Ltd100%
Milestonesno dates on record

Oldbury nuclear power plant B2 Cancelled

Reactor typePressurised water reactor (PWR)
ModelAP-1000
Size classLarge
Gross capacity1,100MW
Net capacitynot disclosed
Thermal outputnot disclosed
Enrichment3–5% U-235
NSSS vendorWestinghouse Electric Company
Cancelled2019
OwnerHorizon Nuclear Power Ltd100%
Milestonesno dates on record

Oldbury nuclear power plant B3 Cancelled

Reactor typePressurised water reactor (PWR)
ModelAP-1000
Size classLarge
Gross capacity1,100MW
Net capacitynot disclosed
Thermal outputnot disclosed
Enrichment3–5% U-235
NSSS vendorWestinghouse Electric Company
Cancelled2019
OwnerHorizon Nuclear Power Ltd100%
Milestonesno dates on record

Oldbury nuclear power plant in context

The 2 units with both construction and grid dates on record took 5.5 to 5.9 years (median 5.7) from construction start to grid connection; the median across all reactors connected in the 1960s is 5.0 years.

The nearest other tracked nuclear sites are Hinkley Point nuclear power plant (63 km), Flamanville nuclear power plant (240 km) and Heysham nuclear power plant (266 km).

Build time by unit

UnitConstruction startGrid connectionYearsFleet median, same decade
Unit A1196219675.55.0 (1960s)
Unit A2196219685.95.0 (1960s)

Nearest tracked nuclear sites

How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.

Site detail
LocationEngland, United Kingdom
Coordinates51.6485, -2.5708
Elevationabout 30 mabove sea level
SettingOn the sea coast, 0.3 km from the water
RegionNorthern Europe
Units by status
Retired: 2
Cancelled: 3

Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (SRTM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.

Owners & operators
Owners
Nuclear Decommissioning Authority (United Kingdom)
Horizon Nuclear Power Ltd
Operators
Magnox

Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.

Sources

How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data

Try

Searches every page: 1,823 reactors, 592 plants, 158 fuel chain facilities, companies, designs, accidents and notes.