Novouralsk (Urals Electrochemical Combine)
Novouralsk (Urals Electrochemical Combine) is a enrichment facility operated by TVEL Fuel Company in Russia. It has a capacity of 13,300 tSWU/yr as of 2026, about 20% of world enrichment capacity.
The largest enrichment plant in the world by a wide margin, on its own roughly the size of all four Urenco sites together and larger than the entire enrichment capacity of the United States, France and Japan combined. Not under safeguards: Russia is a weapon state and its civil enrichment is not subject to IAEA inspection.
| Stage | Enrichment |
|---|---|
| Operator | TVEL Fuel Company |
| Country | Russia |
| Capacity | 13,300tSWU/yr |
| Figure applies to | 2026 |
| Status | operating |
| Commissioned | not stated |
| Coordinates | 57.2500, 60.0833 |
This facility is about 20% of world enrichment capacity (68,076 tSWU/yr, 2025).
TVEL Fuel Company also operates:
- Elektrostal (Elemash) reprocessed uranium conversion (conversion)
- Zelenogorsk (Electrochemical Plant) (enrichment)
- Angarsk (Electrolysis Chemical Combine) (enrichment)
- Seversk (Siberian Chemical Combine) (enrichment)
- Elektrostal (MSZ) (fabrication)
- Novosibirsk Chemical Concentrates Plant (fabrication)
Other enrichment facilities
| Facility | Capacity | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Zelenogorsk (Electrochemical Plant) | 7,900tSWU/yr | operating |
| Georges Besse II, Tricastin | 7,500tSWU/yr | operating |
| Project IKE, Oak Ridge | 7,500tSWU/yr | licensing |
| Paducah Laser Enrichment Facility | 6,000tSWU/yr | planned |
| Urenco Almelo | 5,100tSWU/yr | operating |
| Urenco USA, National Enrichment Facility | 4,650tSWU/yr | operating |
| Urenco Capenhurst | 4,500tSWU/yr | operating |
| Angarsk (Electrolysis Chemical Combine) | 4,000tSWU/yr | operating |
| Seversk (Siberian Chemical Combine) | 3,800tSWU/yr | operating |
| Urenco Gronau | 3,600tSWU/yr | operating |
| Hanzhong (Shaanxi) enrichment plant | 2,700tSWU/yr | operating |
| Heping (Plant 814) | 230tSWU/yr | operating |
| Rokkasho Enrichment Plant | 150tSWU/yr | operating |
| Resende enrichment plant | 50tSWU/yr | operating |
| Lanzhou enrichment plant | not disclosed | operating |
| Emeishan enrichment plant | not disclosed | operating |
| Pilcaniyeu | not disclosed | not operating |
| Ratehalli (Rare Materials Plant) | not disclosed | operating |
| Kahuta (Khan Research Laboratories) | not disclosed | operating |
| Gadwal | not disclosed | operating |
| Natanz Fuel Enrichment Plant | not disclosed | uncertain |
| Fordow Fuel Enrichment Plant | not disclosed | uncertain |
| Yongbyon enrichment plant | not disclosed | operating |
| Kangson | not disclosed | operating |
At the market indicator. 13,300 tSWU/yr of nameplate capacity, valued at US$ 200.00 per SWU spot, comes to roughly US$ 2.66 billion a year, or US$ 2.43 billion at the long-term indicator. Treat both as scale, not revenue: most volume moves under contracts signed years earlier at prices neither figure reflects, and nothing here is netted against the cost of producing it. The indicators, and forty years of history behind them, are on fuel market prices.
Sources
- International Panel on Fissile Materials, detailed enrichment facilities table · retrieved 2026-09-06
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data