Paducah Laser Enrichment Facility
Paducah Laser Enrichment Facility is a enrichment facility operated by Global Laser Enrichment in United States. It has a capacity of 6,000 tSWU/yr as of 2026, about 9% of world enrichment capacity.
The only enrichment project anywhere using laser separation rather than centrifuges, a technology that has been fifteen years from commercial for about fifty years. Its purpose inverts the usual one: rather than enriching natural uranium, it would re-enrich the Department of Energy's depleted uranium tails back to natural grade, about 100,000 tonnes of it over thirty years. That makes it the only serious proposal anywhere to treat the depleted uranium stockpile as a resource rather than a liability. Global Laser Enrichment has also applied to enrich to 8% U-235, which would put it in HALEU territory. Demonstration work at the Wilmington test loop finished in October 2025.
| Stage | Enrichment |
|---|---|
| Operator | Global Laser Enrichment |
| Country | United States |
| Capacity | 6,000tSWU/yr |
| Figure applies to | 2026 |
| Note on the figure | stated maximum for the proposed plant; nothing is enriched there yet |
| Status | planned |
| Commissioned | not stated |
| Coordinates | 37.1000, -88.8000 |
This facility is about 9% of world enrichment capacity (68,076 tSWU/yr, 2025).
Other enrichment facilities
| Facility | Capacity | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Novouralsk (Urals Electrochemical Combine) | 13,300tSWU/yr | operating |
| Zelenogorsk (Electrochemical Plant) | 7,900tSWU/yr | operating |
| Georges Besse II, Tricastin | 7,500tSWU/yr | operating |
| Project IKE, Oak Ridge | 7,500tSWU/yr | licensing |
| Urenco Almelo | 5,100tSWU/yr | operating |
| Urenco USA, National Enrichment Facility | 4,650tSWU/yr | operating |
| Urenco Capenhurst | 4,500tSWU/yr | operating |
| Angarsk (Electrolysis Chemical Combine) | 4,000tSWU/yr | operating |
| Seversk (Siberian Chemical Combine) | 3,800tSWU/yr | operating |
| Urenco Gronau | 3,600tSWU/yr | operating |
| Hanzhong (Shaanxi) enrichment plant | 2,700tSWU/yr | operating |
| Heping (Plant 814) | 230tSWU/yr | operating |
| Rokkasho Enrichment Plant | 150tSWU/yr | operating |
| Resende enrichment plant | 50tSWU/yr | operating |
| Lanzhou enrichment plant | not disclosed | operating |
| Emeishan enrichment plant | not disclosed | operating |
| Pilcaniyeu | not disclosed | not operating |
| Ratehalli (Rare Materials Plant) | not disclosed | operating |
| Kahuta (Khan Research Laboratories) | not disclosed | operating |
| Gadwal | not disclosed | operating |
| Natanz Fuel Enrichment Plant | not disclosed | uncertain |
| Fordow Fuel Enrichment Plant | not disclosed | uncertain |
| Yongbyon enrichment plant | not disclosed | operating |
| Kangson | not disclosed | operating |
At the market indicator. 6,000 tSWU/yr of nameplate capacity, valued at US$ 200.00 per SWU spot, comes to roughly US$ 1.20 billion a year, or US$ 1.10 billion at the long-term indicator. Treat both as scale, not revenue: most volume moves under contracts signed years earlier at prices neither figure reflects, and nothing here is netted against the cost of producing it. The indicators, and forty years of history behind them, are on fuel market prices.
Sources
- World Nuclear Association, US Nuclear Fuel Cycle · retrieved 2026-09-06
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data