Skip to content

Angarsk (Electrolysis Chemical Combine)

enrichment Russia operating
Capacity
4,000tSWU/yr

Angarsk (Electrolysis Chemical Combine) is a enrichment facility operated by TVEL Fuel Company in Russia. It has a capacity of 4,000 tSWU/yr as of 2026, about 6% of world enrichment capacity.

Host of the International Uranium Enrichment Centre, a joint venture set up so that states without enrichment could hold a stake in supply rather than build their own plant. Its conversion plant, a separate facility on the same site, shut down in April 2014.

Facility
StageEnrichment
OperatorTVEL Fuel Company
CountryRussia
Capacity 4,000tSWU/yr
Figure applies to2026
Statusoperating
Commissionednot stated
Coordinates52.5333, 103.8833
Position in the chain

This facility is about 6% of world enrichment capacity (68,076 tSWU/yr, 2025).

TVEL Fuel Company also operates:

Other enrichment facilities

FacilityCapacityStatus
Novouralsk (Urals Electrochemical Combine) 13,300tSWU/yr operating
Zelenogorsk (Electrochemical Plant) 7,900tSWU/yr operating
Georges Besse II, Tricastin 7,500tSWU/yr operating
Project IKE, Oak Ridge 7,500tSWU/yr licensing
Paducah Laser Enrichment Facility 6,000tSWU/yr planned
Urenco Almelo 5,100tSWU/yr operating
Urenco USA, National Enrichment Facility 4,650tSWU/yr operating
Urenco Capenhurst 4,500tSWU/yr operating
Seversk (Siberian Chemical Combine) 3,800tSWU/yr operating
Urenco Gronau 3,600tSWU/yr operating
Hanzhong (Shaanxi) enrichment plant 2,700tSWU/yr operating
Heping (Plant 814) 230tSWU/yr operating
Rokkasho Enrichment Plant 150tSWU/yr operating
Resende enrichment plant 50tSWU/yr operating
Lanzhou enrichment plant not disclosed operating
Emeishan enrichment plant not disclosed operating
Pilcaniyeu not disclosed not operating
Ratehalli (Rare Materials Plant) not disclosed operating
Kahuta (Khan Research Laboratories) not disclosed operating
Gadwal not disclosed operating
Natanz Fuel Enrichment Plant not disclosed uncertain
Fordow Fuel Enrichment Plant not disclosed uncertain
Yongbyon enrichment plant not disclosed operating
Kangson not disclosed operating

At the market indicator. 4,000 tSWU/yr of nameplate capacity, valued at US$ 200.00 per SWU spot, comes to roughly US$ 800 million a year, or US$ 732 million at the long-term indicator. Treat both as scale, not revenue: most volume moves under contracts signed years earlier at prices neither figure reflects, and nothing here is netted against the cost of producing it. The indicators, and forty years of history behind them, are on fuel market prices.

Sources

How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data

Try

Searches every page: 1,823 reactors, 592 plants, 158 fuel chain facilities, companies, designs, accidents and notes.