HI-STORE, Lea County
Capacity
8,680tHM
HI-STORE, Lea County is a dry storage facility operated by Holtec International in United States. It has a capacity of 8,680 tHM as of 2023.
Licensed by the NRC in May 2023 for 8,680 tonnes of used fuel in New Mexico, opposed by the state on the same grounds as the Texas project, and cancelled by Holtec. Recorded because the pair of them are the whole American consolidated storage effort: two licences granted, two states refusing, nothing built, and the fuel still at the reactors.
Facility
| Stage | Interim storage |
|---|---|
| Operator | Holtec International |
| Country | United States |
| Capacity | 8,680tHM |
| Figure applies to | 2023 |
| Note on the figure | licensed capacity; the project was cancelled before construction |
| Status | cancelled |
| Commissioned | not stated |
| Coordinates | 32.4300, -103.7800 |
Position in the chain
No disclosed capacity, so its share of world dry_storage capacity cannot be stated.
Other dry storage facilities
| Facility | Capacity | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Clab central interim storage | 11,000tHM | operating |
| Interim Storage Partners, Andrews County | 5,000tHM | licensed |
| Mutsu Recyclable Fuel Storage Center | 3,000tHM | operating |
| HABOG | not disclosed | operating |
| Zwilag central interim storage | not disclosed | operating |
| Ahaus interim storage | not disclosed | operating |
| Gorleben interim storage | not disclosed | operating |
| Central Spent Fuel Storage Facility | not disclosed | operating |
| Ignalina dry storage | not disclosed | operating |
Sources
- World Nuclear News, Holtec cancels plans for New Mexico interim storage facility · retrieved 2026-09-06
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data