Skip to content

North Anna nuclear power plant

North Anna nuclear power plant is a nuclear power station in United States with 2 operating units totalling 2,001 MW gross. The site has 6 units on record in total.

Operating3Pre-construction1Shelved1Retired1circle area ∝ site capacitydashed = approximate position Coastlines, borders and lakes: Natural Earth (1:10 million, public domain), which is generalised, so a coastal plant can sit a couple of kilometres off its true shoreline. Site positions: Global Nuclear Power Tracker.
Units on record
6
Operating
2
Operating capacity
2,001MW

Units

UnitStatusTypeModelGross MWOnline
Unit 1 Operating PWR WH 3LP (DRYSUB) 990 1978
Unit 2 Operating PWR WH 3LP (DRYSUB) 1,011 1980
Unit 3 Cancelled BWR ESBWR 1,500 -
Unit 3A Cancelled PWR - 907 -
Unit 4A Cancelled PWR - 907 -
Unit SMR Announced - - 300 -

Unit by unit

Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.

North Anna nuclear power plant 1 Operating

Reactor typePressurised water reactor (PWR)
ModelWestinghouse 3-loop
Size classLarge
Gross capacity990MW
Net capacity948MW
Thermal output2,940MWt
Enrichment3–5% U-235
NSSS vendorWestinghouse Electric Company
OwnerVirginia Electric and Power Co100%
OperatorDominion Energy
Construction start19 Feb 1971
First criticality5 Apr 1978
Grid connection17 Apr 1978
Commercial operation6 Jun 1978

Live status, outage record and fuel chain for North Anna nuclear power plant 1

North Anna nuclear power plant 2 Operating

Reactor typePressurised water reactor (PWR)
ModelWestinghouse 3-loop
Size classLarge
Gross capacity1,011MW
Net capacity944MW
Thermal output2,940MWt
Enrichment3–5% U-235
NSSS vendorWestinghouse Electric Company
OwnerVirginia Electric and Power Co100%
OperatorDominion Energy
Construction start19 Feb 1971
First criticality12 Jun 1980
Grid connection25 Aug 1980
Commercial operation14 Dec 1980

Live status, outage record and fuel chain for North Anna nuclear power plant 2

North Anna nuclear power plant 3 Cancelled

Reactor typeBoiling water reactor (BWR)
ModelESBWR
Size classLarge
Gross capacity1,500MW
Net capacitynot disclosed
Thermal outputnot disclosed
Enrichment3–5% U-235
NSSS vendorGE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy
Cancelled2017
OwnerVirginia Electric and Power Co100%
OperatorDominion Energy
Milestonesno dates on record

North Anna nuclear power plant 3A Cancelled

Reactor typePressurised water reactor (PWR)
Modelnot disclosed
Size classLarge
Gross capacity907MW
Net capacitynot disclosed
Thermal outputnot disclosed
Enrichment3–5% U-235
NSSS vendornot on record
Cancelled1982
OwnerVirginia Electric and Power Co100%
Milestonesno dates on record

North Anna nuclear power plant 4A Cancelled

Reactor typePressurised water reactor (PWR)
Modelnot disclosed
Size classLarge
Gross capacity907MW
Net capacitynot disclosed
Thermal outputnot disclosed
Enrichment3–5% U-235
NSSS vendornot on record
Cancelled1980
OwnerVirginia Electric and Power Co100%
Milestonesno dates on record

North Anna nuclear power plant SMR Announced

Reactor typesmall modular reactor
Modelnot disclosed
Size classSmall
Gross capacity300MW
Net capacitynot disclosed
Thermal outputnot disclosed
Enrichmentnot established
NSSS vendornot on record
OwnerDominion Energy Inc100%
Milestonesno dates on record

North Anna nuclear power plant in context

By gross operating capacity North Anna nuclear power plant is the 22nd largest of 54 operating nuclear sites in the United States, holding 2% of the country's operating capacity, and ranks 88th of 172 worldwide.

Its operating units started up between 1978 and 1980; the median unit is 47.0 years old, older than the median of 45.0 in the United States.

The 2 units with both construction and grid dates on record took 7.2 to 9.5 years (median 8.3) from construction start to grid connection; the median across all reactors connected in the 1980s is 7.3 years.

2 operating units are rated differently now from their design net capacities: Unit 1 +4.5% and Unit 2 +4.1%.

Build time by unit

UnitConstruction startGrid connectionYearsFleet median, same decade
Unit 1197119787.25.4 (1970s)
Unit 2197119809.57.3 (1980s)

How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.

Site detail
LocationVirginia, United States
Coordinates38.0601, -77.7897approximate
Elevationnot given: the position is only approximate
Settingnot given: the position is only approximate
RegionNorthern America
Units by status
Operating: 2
Cancelled: 3
Announced: 1
Owners & operators
Owners
Virginia Electric and Power Co
Dominion Energy Inc
Operators
Dominion Energy

Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.

Sources

How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data

Try

Searches every page: 1,823 reactors, 592 plants, 158 fuel chain facilities, companies, designs, accidents and notes.