Moorside nuclear power plant
Moorside nuclear power plant is a nuclear site in United Kingdom with 3 units on record. None is currently operating.
Units
| Unit | Status | Type | Model | Gross MW | Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | Cancelled | PWR | AP-1000 | 1,135 | - |
| Unit 2 | Cancelled | PWR | AP-1000 | 1,135 | - |
| Unit 3 | Cancelled | PWR | AP-1000 | 1,135 | - |
Unit by unit
Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.
Moorside nuclear power plant 1 Cancelled
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | AP-1000 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,135MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Westinghouse Electric Company |
| Cancelled | 2018 |
| Owner | Nugeneration Ltd100% |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Moorside nuclear power plant 2 Cancelled
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | AP-1000 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,135MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Westinghouse Electric Company |
| Cancelled | 2018 |
| Owner | Nugeneration Ltd100% |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Moorside nuclear power plant 3 Cancelled
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | AP-1000 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,135MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Westinghouse Electric Company |
| Cancelled | 2018 |
| Owner | Nugeneration Ltd100% |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Moorside nuclear power plant in context
The nearest other tracked nuclear sites are Heysham nuclear power plant (59 km), Hartlepool nuclear power plant (152 km) and Torness nuclear power plant (185 km).
Nearest tracked nuclear sites
| Site | Country | Distance | Operating GW gross |
|---|---|---|---|
| Heysham nuclear power plant | United Kingdom | 59 km | 2.6 |
| Hartlepool nuclear power plant | United Kingdom | 152 km | 1.3 |
| Torness nuclear power plant | United Kingdom | 185 km | 1.4 |
How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.
| Location | England, United Kingdom |
|---|---|
| Coordinates | 54.4296, -3.5109 |
| Elevation | not available |
| Setting | not available |
| Region | Northern Europe |
| Units by status | Cancelled: 3 |
| Owners | Nugeneration Ltd |
|---|---|
| Operators | not disclosed |
Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data