Monju nuclear power plant
Monju nuclear power plant is a nuclear site in Japan with 1 unit on record. None is currently operating.
Units
| Unit | Status | Type | Model | Gross MW | Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monju nuclear power plant | Retired | FBR | - | 280 | 1995 |
Unit by unit
Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.
Monju nuclear power plant Retired
GNPT records commercial operation as 1 January 1995, a placeholder that falls before the unit's grid connection on 29 August 1995. The IAEA PRIS record lists no commercial-operation date for Monju, which never entered commercial service, and gives permanent shutdown on 5 December 2017 where GNPT has 1 January 2017.
commercial_operation:
1995-01-01 →
· World Nuclear Association, Nuclear Reactor Database, Monju (data credited to IAEA PRIS)
· verified 2026-10-28
GNPT records commercial operation as 1 January 1995, a placeholder that falls before the unit's grid connection on 29 August 1995. The IAEA PRIS record lists no commercial-operation date for Monju, which never entered commercial service, and gives permanent shutdown on 5 December 2017 where GNPT has 1 January 2017.
permanent_shutdown:
2017-01-01 → 2017-12-05
· World Nuclear Association, Nuclear Reactor Database, Monju (data credited to IAEA PRIS)
· verified 2026-10-28
| Reactor type | Fast reactor (FBR) |
|---|---|
| Model | not disclosed |
| Size class | Small |
| Gross capacity | 280MW |
| Net capacity | 246MW |
| Thermal output | 714MWt |
| Enrichment | 15–20% fissile, or plutonium |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Owner | Japan Atomic Energy Agency100% |
| Operator | Japan Atomic Energy Agency |
| Construction start | 10 May 1986 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 5 Apr 1994 |
| Grid connection | 29 Aug 1995 |
| Permanent shutdown | 5 Dec 2017 |
Monju nuclear power plant in context
The one unit with both construction and grid dates on record took 9.3 years from construction start to grid connection; the median across all reactors connected in the 1990s is 8.0 years.
The nearest other tracked nuclear sites are Mihama nuclear power plant (5 km), Ohi nuclear power plant (37 km) and Takahama nuclear power plant (50 km).
Build time by unit
| Unit | Construction start | Grid connection | Years | Fleet median, same decade |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monju nuclear power plant | 1986 | 1995 | 9.3 | 8.0 (1990s) |
Nearest tracked nuclear sites
| Site | Country | Distance | Operating GW gross |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mihama nuclear power plant | Japan | 5 km | 0.8 |
| Ohi nuclear power plant | Japan | 37 km | 2.4 |
| Takahama nuclear power plant | Japan | 50 km | 3.4 |
How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.
| Location | Tsuruga, Fukui, Japan |
|---|---|
| Coordinates | 35.7400, 135.9878 |
| Elevation | about 55 mabove sea level |
| Setting | On the sea coast, 0.3 km from the water |
| Region | Eastern Asia |
| Units by status | Retired: 1 |
Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (SRTM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.
| Owners | Japan Atomic Energy Agency |
|---|---|
| Operators | Japan Atomic Energy Agency |
Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data