Hamaoka nuclear power plant
Hamaoka nuclear power plant is a nuclear site in Japan with 6 units on record. None is currently operating.
Units
| Unit | Status | Type | Model | Gross MW | Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | Retired | BWR | BWR-4 | 540 | 1976 |
| Unit 2 | Retired | BWR | BWR-4 | 840 | 1978 |
| Unit 3 | Mothballed | BWR | BWR-5 | 1,100 | 1987 |
| Unit 4 | Mothballed | BWR | BWR-5 | 1,137 | 1993 |
| Unit 5 | Mothballed | BWR | ABWR | 1,380 | 2005 |
| Unit 6 | Shelved | BWR | ABWR | 1,400 | - |
Unit by unit
Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.
Hamaoka nuclear power plant 1 Retired
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWR-4 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 540MW |
| Net capacity | 516MW |
| Thermal output | 1,593MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Chubu Electric Power Co Inc100% |
| Operator | Chubu Electric Power |
| Construction start | 10 Jun 1971 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 20 Jun 1974 |
| Grid connection | 13 Aug 1974 |
| Commercial operation | 17 Mar 1976 |
| Permanent shutdown | 30 Jan 2009 |
Hamaoka nuclear power plant 2 Retired
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWR-4 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 840MW |
| Net capacity | 814MW |
| Thermal output | 2,436MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Chubu Electric Power Co Inc100% |
| Operator | Chubu Electric Power |
| Construction start | 14 Jun 1974 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 28 Mar 1978 |
| Grid connection | 4 May 1978 |
| Commercial operation | 29 Nov 1978 |
| Permanent shutdown | 30 Jan 2009 |
Hamaoka nuclear power plant 3 Mothballed
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWR-5 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,100MW |
| Net capacity | 1,056MW |
| Thermal output | 3,293MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Chubu Electric Power Co Inc100% |
| Operator | Chubu Electric Power |
| Construction start | 18 Apr 1983 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 21 Nov 1986 |
| Grid connection | 20 Jan 1987 |
| Commercial operation | 28 Aug 1987 |
Hamaoka nuclear power plant 4 Mothballed
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWR-5 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,137MW |
| Net capacity | 1,092MW |
| Thermal output | 3,293MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Chubu Electric Power Co Inc100% |
| Operator | Chubu Electric Power |
| Construction start | 13 Oct 1989 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 2 Dec 1992 |
| Grid connection | 27 Jan 1993 |
| Commercial operation | 3 Sep 1993 |
Hamaoka nuclear power plant 5 Mothballed
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | ABWR |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,380MW |
| Net capacity | 1,325MW |
| Thermal output | 3,926MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Chubu Electric Power Co Inc100% |
| Operator | Chubu Electric Power |
| Construction start | 12 Jul 2000 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 23 Mar 2004 |
| Grid connection | 30 Apr 2004 |
| Commercial operation | 18 Jan 2005 |
Hamaoka nuclear power plant 6 Shelved
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | ABWR |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,400MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Chubu Electric Power Co Inc100% |
| Operator | Chubu Electric Power |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Hamaoka nuclear power plant in context
The 2 units with both construction and grid dates on record took 3.2 to 3.9 years (median 3.5) from construction start to grid connection; the median across all reactors connected in the 1970s is 5.4 years.
The nearest other tracked nuclear sites are Mihama nuclear power plant (232 km), Ohi nuclear power plant (248 km) and Takahama nuclear power plant (260 km).
Build time by unit
| Unit | Construction start | Grid connection | Years | Fleet median, same decade |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | 1971 | 1974 | 3.2 | 5.4 (1970s) |
| Unit 2 | 1974 | 1978 | 3.9 | 5.4 (1970s) |
Nearest tracked nuclear sites
| Site | Country | Distance | Operating GW gross |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mihama nuclear power plant | Japan | 232 km | 0.8 |
| Ohi nuclear power plant | Japan | 248 km | 2.4 |
| Takahama nuclear power plant | Japan | 260 km | 3.4 |
How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.
| Location | Omaezaki, Shizuoka, Japan |
|---|---|
| Coordinates | 34.6235, 138.1421 |
| Elevation | about 25 mabove sea level |
| Setting | On the sea coast, 0.4 km from the water |
| Region | Eastern Asia |
| Units by status | Retired: 2 Mothballed: 3 Shelved: 1 |
Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (SRTM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.
| Owners | Chubu Electric Power Co Inc |
|---|---|
| Operators | Chubu Electric Power |
Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data