Skip to content

Hunterston nuclear power plant

Hunterston nuclear power plant is a nuclear site in United Kingdom with 4 units on record. None is currently operating.

Operating2Shelved1Retired3circle area ∝ site capacity Coastlines, borders and lakes: Natural Earth (1:10 million, public domain), which is generalised, so a coastal plant can sit a couple of kilometres off its true shoreline. Site positions: Global Nuclear Power Tracker.
Units on record
4
Operating
0
Operating capacity
not disclosed

Units

UnitStatusTypeModelGross MWOnline
Unit A1 Retired GCR MAGNOX 173 1964
Unit A2 Retired GCR MAGNOX 173 1964
Unit B1 Retired GCR AGR 644 1976
Unit B2 Retired GCR AGR 644 1977

Unit by unit

Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.

Hunterston nuclear power plant A1 Retired

Reactor typeGas-cooled reactor (GCR)
ModelMAGNOX
Size classSmall
Gross capacity173MW
Net capacity150MW
Thermal output595MWt
EnrichmentNatural uranium to 2.5–3.5% U-235no enrichment required
NSSS vendornot on record
OwnerNuclear Decommissioning Authority (United Kingdom)100%
OperatorMagnox
Construction start1 Oct 1957
First criticality1 Aug 1963
Grid connection5 Feb 1964
Commercial operation5 Feb 1964
Permanent shutdown30 Mar 1990

Hunterston nuclear power plant A2 Retired

Reactor typeGas-cooled reactor (GCR)
ModelMAGNOX
Size classSmall
Gross capacity173MW
Net capacity150MW
Thermal output595MWt
EnrichmentNatural uranium to 2.5–3.5% U-235no enrichment required
NSSS vendornot on record
OwnerNuclear Decommissioning Authority (United Kingdom)100%
OperatorMagnox
Construction start1 Oct 1957
First criticality1 Mar 1964
Grid connection1 Jun 1964
Commercial operation1 Jul 1964
Permanent shutdown31 Dec 1989

Hunterston nuclear power plant B1 Retired

Reactor typeGas-cooled reactor (GCR)
ModelAGR
Size classLarge
Gross capacity644MW
Net capacity490MW
Thermal output1,496MWt
EnrichmentNatural uranium to 2.5–3.5% U-235no enrichment required
NSSS vendornot on record
OwnerEDF Energy Ltd100%
OperatorEDF Energy
Construction start1 Nov 1967
First criticality31 Jan 1976
Grid connection6 Feb 1976
Commercial operation7 Feb 1976
Permanent shutdown26 Nov 2021

Hunterston nuclear power plant B2 Retired

Reactor typeGas-cooled reactor (GCR)
ModelAGR
Size classLarge
Gross capacity644MW
Net capacity495MW
Thermal output1,496MWt
EnrichmentNatural uranium to 2.5–3.5% U-235no enrichment required
NSSS vendornot on record
OwnerEDF Energy Ltd100%
OperatorEDF Energy
Construction start1 Nov 1967
First criticality27 Mar 1977
Grid connection31 Mar 1977
Commercial operation1 Apr 1977
Permanent shutdown7 Jan 2022

Hunterston nuclear power plant in context

The 4 units with both construction and grid dates on record took 6.3 to 9.4 years (median 7.5) from construction start to grid connection; the median across all reactors connected in the 1970s is 5.4 years.

The nearest other tracked nuclear sites are Torness nuclear power plant (158 km), Heysham nuclear power plant (227 km) and Hartlepool nuclear power plant (265 km).

Build time by unit

UnitConstruction startGrid connectionYearsFleet median, same decade
Unit A1195719646.35.0 (1960s)
Unit A2195719646.75.0 (1960s)
Unit B1196719768.35.4 (1970s)
Unit B2196719779.45.4 (1970s)

Nearest tracked nuclear sites

How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.

Site detail
LocationScotland, United Kingdom
Coordinates55.7200, -4.8975
Elevationabout 5 mabove sea level
SettingOn the sea coast, 0.2 km from the water
RegionNorthern Europe
Units by status
Retired: 4

Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (SRTM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.

Owners & operators
Owners
Nuclear Decommissioning Authority (United Kingdom)
EDF Energy Ltd
Operators
Magnox
EDF Energy

Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.

Sources

How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data

Try

Searches every page: 1,823 reactors, 592 plants, 158 fuel chain facilities, companies, designs, accidents and notes.