Gorakhpur Haryana nuclear power plant
Gorakhpur Haryana nuclear power plant is a nuclear site in India with 4 units on record. None is currently operating.
Units
| Unit | Status | Type | Model | Gross MW | Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1-1 | Pre-construction | PHWR | PHWR-700 | 700 | 2031 |
| Unit 1-2 | Pre-construction | PHWR | PHWR-700 | 700 | 2031 |
| Unit 2-3 | Pre-construction | PHWR | PHWR-700 | 700 | 2031 |
| Unit 2-4 | Pre-construction | PHWR | PHWR-700 | 700 | 2031 |
Unit by unit
Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.
Gorakhpur Haryana nuclear power plant 1-1 Pre-construction
| Reactor type | Pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | PHWR-700 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 700MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium, 0.71% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | Nuclear Power Corporation of India |
| Owner | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India Ltd100% |
| Operator | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India |
| Commercial operation | 1 Jan 2031 |
|---|
Gorakhpur Haryana nuclear power plant 1-2 Pre-construction
| Reactor type | Pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | PHWR-700 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 700MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium, 0.71% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | Nuclear Power Corporation of India |
| Owner | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India Ltd100% |
| Operator | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India |
| Commercial operation | 1 Jan 2031 |
|---|
Gorakhpur Haryana nuclear power plant 2-3 Pre-construction
| Reactor type | Pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | PHWR-700 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 700MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium, 0.71% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | Nuclear Power Corporation of India |
| Owner | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India Ltd100% |
| Operator | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India |
| Commercial operation | 1 Jan 2031 |
|---|
Gorakhpur Haryana nuclear power plant 2-4 Pre-construction
| Reactor type | Pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | PHWR-700 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 700MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium, 0.71% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | Nuclear Power Corporation of India |
| Owner | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India Ltd100% |
| Operator | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India |
| Commercial operation | 1 Jan 2031 |
|---|
Gorakhpur Haryana nuclear power plant in context
No other nuclear site with an exact position in this dataset lies within 300 km.
How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.
| Location | Haryana, India |
|---|---|
| Coordinates | 29.4414, 75.6322 |
| Elevation | about 210 mabove sea level |
| Setting | About 840 km from the sea |
| Region | Southern Asia |
| Units by status | Pre-construction: 4 |
Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (SRTM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.
| Owners | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India Ltd |
|---|---|
| Operators | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India |
Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data