Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant
Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant is a nuclear site in Japan with 8 units on record. None is currently operating.
Units
| Unit | Status | Type | Model | Gross MW | Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | Retired | BWR | BWR-3 | 460 | 1971 |
| Unit 2 | Retired | BWR | BWR-4 | 784 | 1974 |
| Unit 3 | Retired | BWR | BWR-4 | 784 | 1976 |
| Unit 4 | Retired | BWR | BWR-4 | 784 | 1978 |
| Unit 5 | Retired | BWR | BWR-4 | 784 | 1978 |
| Unit 6 | Retired | BWR | BWR-5 | 1,100 | 1979 |
| Unit 7 | Cancelled | BWR | - | 1,380 | - |
| Unit 8 | Cancelled | BWR | - | 1,380 | - |
Unit by unit
Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.
Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant 1 Retired
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWR-3 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 460MW |
| Net capacity | 439MW |
| Thermal output | 1,380MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Tokyo Electric Power Co100% |
| Operator | Tokyo Electric Power |
| Construction start | 25 Jul 1967 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 10 Oct 1970 |
| Grid connection | 17 Nov 1970 |
| Commercial operation | 26 Mar 1971 |
| Permanent shutdown | 19 May 2011 |
Accident on record: Fukushima Daiichi, 2011-03-11, INES level 7, major accident.
Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant 2 Retired
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWR-4 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 784MW |
| Net capacity | 760MW |
| Thermal output | 2,381MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Tokyo Electric Power Co100% |
| Operator | Tokyo Electric Power |
| Construction start | 9 Jun 1969 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 10 May 1973 |
| Grid connection | 24 Dec 1973 |
| Commercial operation | 18 Jul 1974 |
| Permanent shutdown | 19 May 2011 |
Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant 3 Retired
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWR-4 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 784MW |
| Net capacity | 760MW |
| Thermal output | 2,381MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Tokyo Electric Power Co100% |
| Operator | Tokyo Electric Power |
| Construction start | 28 Dec 1970 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 6 Sep 1974 |
| Grid connection | 26 Oct 1974 |
| Commercial operation | 27 Mar 1976 |
| Permanent shutdown | 19 May 2011 |
Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant 4 Retired
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWR-4 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 784MW |
| Net capacity | 760MW |
| Thermal output | 2,381MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Tokyo Electric Power Co100% |
| Operator | Tokyo Electric Power |
| Construction start | 12 Feb 1973 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 28 Jan 1978 |
| Grid connection | 24 Feb 1978 |
| Commercial operation | 12 Oct 1978 |
| Permanent shutdown | 19 May 2011 |
Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant 5 Retired
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWR-4 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 784MW |
| Net capacity | 760MW |
| Thermal output | 2,381MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Tokyo Electric Power Co100% |
| Operator | Tokyo Electric Power |
| Construction start | 22 May 1972 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 26 Aug 1977 |
| Grid connection | 22 Sep 1977 |
| Commercial operation | 18 Apr 1978 |
| Permanent shutdown | 17 Dec 2013 |
Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant 6 Retired
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWR-5 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,100MW |
| Net capacity | 1,067MW |
| Thermal output | 3,293MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Tokyo Electric Power Co100% |
| Operator | Tokyo Electric Power |
| Construction start | 26 Oct 1973 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 9 Mar 1979 |
| Grid connection | 4 May 1979 |
| Commercial operation | 24 Oct 1979 |
| Permanent shutdown | 17 Dec 2013 |
Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant 7 Cancelled
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | not disclosed |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,380MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Cancelled | 2014 |
| Owner | Tokyo Electric Power Co100% |
| Operator | Tokyo Electric Power |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant 8 Cancelled
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | not disclosed |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,380MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Cancelled | 2014 |
| Owner | Tokyo Electric Power Co100% |
| Operator | Tokyo Electric Power |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant in context
The 6 units with both construction and grid dates on record took 3.3 to 5.5 years (median 4.8) from construction start to grid connection; the median across all reactors connected in the 1970s is 5.4 years.
The nearest other tracked nuclear sites are Onagawa nuclear power plant (116 km) and Kashiwazaki Kariwa nuclear power plant (215 km).
Build time by unit
| Unit | Construction start | Grid connection | Years | Fleet median, same decade |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | 1967 | 1970 | 3.3 | 5.4 (1970s) |
| Unit 2 | 1969 | 1973 | 4.5 | 5.4 (1970s) |
| Unit 3 | 1970 | 1974 | 3.8 | 5.4 (1970s) |
| Unit 5 | 1972 | 1977 | 5.3 | 5.4 (1970s) |
| Unit 4 | 1973 | 1978 | 5.0 | 5.4 (1970s) |
| Unit 6 | 1973 | 1979 | 5.5 | 5.4 (1970s) |
Nearest tracked nuclear sites
| Site | Country | Distance | Operating GW gross |
|---|---|---|---|
| Onagawa nuclear power plant | Japan | 116 km | 0.8 |
| Kashiwazaki Kariwa nuclear power plant | Japan | 215 km | 1.4 |
How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.
| Location | Fukushima, Japan |
|---|---|
| Coordinates | 37.4231, 141.0331 |
| Elevation | about 15 mabove sea level |
| Setting | On the sea coast, 0.6 km from the water |
| Region | Eastern Asia |
| Units by status | Retired: 6 Cancelled: 2 |
Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (SRTM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.
| Owners | Tokyo Electric Power Co |
|---|---|
| Operators | Tokyo Electric Power |
Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data