Project Pele
Project Pele is a helium-cooled reactor design from BWX Technologies rated at 2 MWe. Nuclear construction has begun. It requires HALEU fuel.
A military transportable microreactor, built by BWXT and designed to ship in four standard containers and be operational within days of arrival. It is authorised by the Department of Energy rather than licensed by the NRC, because it is a government prototype rather than a commercial plant — an important distinction when it is cited as evidence that microreactors are ready. It is nonetheless the furthest advanced container-scale reactor anywhere.
| Tier | Under construction |
|---|---|
| Regulator | US Department of Defense / Department of Energy authorisation |
| Application type | DoD Strategic Capabilities Office prototype, DOE-authorised |
| Docket / reference | US Department of Defense Strategic Capabilities Office, Project Pele prototype |
| Application date | — |
| Review phase | Prototype under construction for demonstration at Idaho National Laboratory |
| Decision expected | not stated |
| Coolant | Helium |
|---|---|
| Reactor family | High-temperature gas reactor (HTGR) |
| Electrical output | 2MWe |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Fuel | TRISO |
| Enrichment | HALEUUp to 19.75% U-235 |
| First site | Idaho National Laboratory |
| Offtakers | none announced |
This design needs HALEU — uranium enriched above 5% and below 20%. That is not the fuel any commercial Western power reactor uses today, and it is the single most common reason an advanced reactor timeline slips. Every Western facility that can make it or turn it into fuel:
| Facility | Capacity | Status |
|---|---|---|
| TRISO-X Fuel Facility (TX-1), Oak Ridge | not disclosed | construction |
| American Centrifuge Plant, Piketon | 900kg HALEU/yr | operating |
| Nuclear Fuel Services, Erwin | not disclosed | operating |
| Savannah River Site HEU downblending | 3,100kg HALEU total | operating |
| BWXT TRISO facility, Gillette | not disclosed | planned |
| Urenco Capenhurst HALEU line | not disclosed | planned |
Sources
- US Department of Defense Strategic Capabilities Office and BWXT · retrieved 2026-09-06