Nine Mile Point nuclear power plant
Nine Mile Point nuclear power plant is a nuclear power station in United States with 2 operating units totalling 1,962 MW gross. The site has 4 units on record in total.
Units
| Unit | Status | Type | Model | Gross MW | Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | BWR | BWR-2 (Mark 1) | 642 | 1969 | |
| Unit 2 | BWR | BWR-5 (Mark 2) | 1,320 | 1988 | |
| Unit 3 | Cancelled | PWR | - | 1,600 | - |
| Unit SMR | Announced | - | - | 300 | - |
Unit by unit
Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.
Nine Mile Point nuclear power plant 1
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWR-2 (Mark 1) |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 642MW |
| Net capacity | 613MW |
| Thermal output | 1,850MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Electricité De France (EDF)100% Exelon Nuclear |
| Operator | Exelon Generation |
| Construction start | 12 Apr 1965 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 5 Sep 1969 |
| Grid connection | 9 Nov 1969 |
| Commercial operation | 1 Dec 1969 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Nine Mile Point nuclear power plant 1
Nine Mile Point nuclear power plant 2
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWR-5 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,320MW |
| Net capacity | 1,277MW |
| Thermal output | 3,988MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Electricité De France (EDF)100% Exelon Nuclear |
| Operator | Exelon Generation |
| Construction start | 1 Aug 1975 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 23 May 1987 |
| Grid connection | 8 Aug 1987 |
| Commercial operation | 11 Mar 1988 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Nine Mile Point nuclear power plant 2
Nine Mile Point nuclear power plant 3 Cancelled
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | not disclosed |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,600MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Cancelled | 2013 |
| Owner | Niagara Mohawk Power Co100% |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Nine Mile Point nuclear power plant SMR Announced
| Reactor type | small modular reactor |
|---|---|
| Model | not disclosed |
| Size class | Small |
| Gross capacity | 300MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | not established |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Owner | Constellation Energy Corp100% |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Nine Mile Point nuclear power plant in context
By gross operating capacity Nine Mile Point nuclear power plant is the 24th largest of 54 operating nuclear sites in the United States, holding 2% of the country's operating capacity, and ranks 94th of 172 worldwide.
Its operating units started up between 1969 and 1988; the median unit is 47.5 years old, older than the median of 45.0 in the United States.
The 2 units with both construction and grid dates on record took 4.6 to 12.0 years (median 8.3) from construction start to grid connection; the median across all reactors connected in the 1980s is 7.3 years.
The nearest other tracked nuclear sites are James A Fitzpatrick nuclear power plant (1 km), Robert Emmett Ginna nuclear power plant (78 km) and Darlington New nuclear power plant (189 km).
2 operating units are rated differently now from their design net capacities: Unit 1 -1.1% and Unit 2 +16.1%.
Build time by unit
| Unit | Construction start | Grid connection | Years | Fleet median, same decade |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | 1965 | 1969 | 4.6 | 5.0 (1960s) |
| Unit 2 | 1975 | 1987 | 12.0 | 7.3 (1980s) |
Nearest tracked nuclear sites
| Site | Country | Distance | Operating GW gross |
|---|---|---|---|
| James A Fitzpatrick nuclear power plant | United States | 1 km | 0.8 |
| Robert Emmett Ginna nuclear power plant | United States | 78 km | 0.6 |
| Darlington New nuclear power plant | Canada | 189 km | - |
How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.
Earthquakes nearby
Loading the latest USGS check…
| Time (UTC) | Mag | Depth | Epicentre | Distance |
|---|
Magnitude 4.0 and above within 200 km of Nine Mile Point nuclear power plant's listed coordinates, past 30 days. This is distance, not shaking: it says nothing about damage or any change in operation. Every plant.
| Location | New York, United States |
|---|---|
| Coordinates | 43.5205, -76.4068 |
| Elevation | about 80 mabove sea level |
| Setting | On the shore of a large lake, 1.3 km from the water |
| Region | Northern America |
| Units by status | Operating: 2 Cancelled: 1 Announced: 1 |
Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (SRTM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.
| Owners | Exelon Nuclear Electricité De France (EDF) Niagara Mohawk Power Co Constellation Energy Corp |
|---|---|
| Operators | Exelon Generation |
Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data