Hope Creek nuclear power plant
Hope Creek nuclear power plant is a nuclear power station in United States with 1 operating unit totalling 1,240 MW gross. The site has 2 units on record in total.
Units
| Unit | Status | Type | Model | Gross MW | Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | BWR | BWR-4 (Mark 1) | 1,240 | 1986 | |
| Unit 2 | Cancelled | BWR | - | 1,067 | - |
Unit by unit
Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.
Hope Creek nuclear power plant 1
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWR-4 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,240MW |
| Net capacity | 1,172MW |
| Thermal output | 3,840MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | PSEG Power Inc100% |
| Operator | PSEG Nuclear |
| Construction start | 1 Mar 1976 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 28 Jun 1986 |
| Grid connection | 1 Aug 1986 |
| Commercial operation | 20 Dec 1986 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Hope Creek nuclear power plant 1
Hope Creek nuclear power plant 2 Cancelled
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | not disclosed |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,067MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Cancelled | 1981 |
| Owner | Public Service Electric and Gas CO (PSE&G)100% |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Hope Creek nuclear power plant in context
By gross operating capacity Hope Creek nuclear power plant is the 41st largest of 54 operating nuclear sites in the United States, holding 1% of the country's operating capacity, and ranks 131st of 172 worldwide.
Its operating unit started up in 1986; the unit is 40.0 years old, younger than the median of 45.0 in the United States.
The one unit with both construction and grid dates on record took 10.4 years from construction start to grid connection; the median across all reactors connected in the 1980s is 7.3 years.
The nearest other tracked nuclear sites are Salem nuclear power plant (0 km), Peach Bottom nuclear power plant (71 km) and Limerick nuclear power plant (84 km).
The current net rating of Unit 1 differs from its design net capacity by +9.8% (1,067 MW at design, 1,172 MW now).
Build time by unit
| Unit | Construction start | Grid connection | Years | Fleet median, same decade |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | 1976 | 1986 | 10.4 | 7.3 (1980s) |
Nearest tracked nuclear sites
| Site | Country | Distance | Operating GW gross |
|---|---|---|---|
| Salem nuclear power plant | United States | 0 km | 2.5 |
| Peach Bottom nuclear power plant | United States | 71 km | 2.8 |
| Limerick nuclear power plant | United States | 84 km | 2.4 |
How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.
Earthquakes nearby
Loading the latest USGS check…
| Time (UTC) | Mag | Depth | Epicentre | Distance |
|---|
Magnitude 4.0 and above within 200 km of Hope Creek nuclear power plant's listed coordinates, past 30 days. This is distance, not shaking: it says nothing about damage or any change in operation. Every plant.
| Location | Lower Alloways Creek Township, New Jersey, United States |
|---|---|
| Coordinates | 39.4666, -75.5377 |
| Elevation | about 10 mabove sea level |
| Setting | On the sea coast, 1.2 km from the water |
| Region | Northern America |
| Units by status | Operating: 1 Cancelled: 1 |
Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (SRTM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.
| Owners | PSEG Power Inc Public Service Electric and Gas CO (PSE&G) |
|---|---|
| Operators | PSEG Nuclear |
Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data