Skip to content

Dounreay nuclear power plant

Dounreay nuclear power plant is a nuclear site in United Kingdom with 2 units on record. None is currently operating.

Retired1circle area ∝ site capacity Coastlines, borders and lakes: Natural Earth (1:10 million, public domain), which is generalised, so a coastal plant can sit a couple of kilometres off its true shoreline. Site positions: Global Nuclear Power Tracker.
Units on record
2
Operating
0
Operating capacity
not disclosed

Units

UnitStatusTypeModelGross MWOnline
Unit DFR Retired FBR - 15 1962
Unit PFR Retired FBR - 250 1976

Unit by unit

Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.

Dounreay nuclear power plant DFR Retired

Reactor typeFast reactor (FBR)
Modelnot disclosed
Size classVery small
Gross capacity15MW
Net capacity11MW
Thermal output60MWt
Enrichment15–20% fissile, or plutonium
NSSS vendornot on record
OwnerUnited Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority100%
OperatorUnited Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority
Construction start1 Mar 1955
First criticality14 Nov 1959
Grid connection1 Oct 1962
Commercial operation1 Oct 1962
Permanent shutdown1 Mar 1977

Dounreay nuclear power plant PFR Retired

Reactor typeFast reactor (FBR)
Modelnot disclosed
Size classSmall
Gross capacity250MW
Net capacity234MW
Thermal output600MWt
Enrichment15–20% fissile, or plutonium
NSSS vendornot on record
OwnerUnited Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority100%
OperatorUnited Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority
Construction start1 Jan 1966
First criticality1 Mar 1974
Grid connection10 Jan 1975
Commercial operation1 Jul 1976
Permanent shutdown31 Mar 1994

Dounreay nuclear power plant in context

The 2 units with both construction and grid dates on record took 7.6 to 9.0 years (median 8.3) from construction start to grid connection; the median across all reactors connected in the 1970s is 5.4 years.

No other nuclear site with an exact position in this dataset lies within 300 km.

Build time by unit

UnitConstruction startGrid connectionYearsFleet median, same decade
Unit DFR195519627.65.0 (1960s)
Unit PFR196619759.05.4 (1970s)

How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.

Site detail
LocationScotland, United Kingdom
Coordinates58.5805, -3.7374
Elevationabout 20 mabove sea level
SettingOn the sea coast, 1.3 km from the water
RegionNorthern Europe
Units by status
Retired: 2

Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (SRTM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.

Owners & operators
Owners
United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority
Operators
United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority

Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.

Sources

How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data

Try

Searches every page: 1,823 reactors, 592 plants, 158 fuel chain facilities, companies, designs, accidents and notes.