Bruce nuclear power plant
Bruce nuclear power plant is a nuclear power station in Canada with 8 operating units totalling 6,944 MW gross. The site has 12 units on record in total.
Units
| Unit | Status | Type | Model | Gross MW | Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit A1 | PHWR | CANDU 791 | 868 | 1977 | |
| Unit A2 | PHWR | CANDU 791 | 836 | 1977 | |
| Unit A3 | PHWR | CANDU 750A | 865 | 1978 | |
| Unit A4 | PHWR | CANDU 750A | 868 | 1979 | |
| Unit B5 | PHWR | CANDU 750B | 872 | 1985 | |
| Unit B6 | PHWR | CANDU 750B | 891 | 1984 | |
| Unit B7 | PHWR | CANDU 750B | 872 | 1986 | |
| Unit B8 | PHWR | CANDU 750B | 872 | 1987 | |
| Unit C1 | Announced | - | - | 1,000 | - |
| Unit C2 | Announced | - | - | 1,000 | - |
| Unit C3 | Announced | - | - | 1,000 | - |
| Unit C4 | Announced | - | - | 1,000 | - |
Unit by unit
Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.
Bruce nuclear power plant A1
| Reactor type | Pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | CANDU 750A |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 868MW |
| Net capacity | 774MW |
| Thermal output | 2,620MWt |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium, 0.71% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | AtkinsRéalis (Candu Energy) |
| Planned retirement | 2042planned, not actual |
| Owner | Ontario Power Generation Inc100% |
| Operator | Bruce Power |
| Construction start | 1 Jun 1971 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 17 Dec 1976 |
| Grid connection | 14 Jan 1977 |
| Commercial operation | 1 Sep 1977 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Bruce nuclear power plant A1
Bruce nuclear power plant A2
| Reactor type | Pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | CANDU 750A |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 836MW |
| Net capacity | 777MW |
| Thermal output | 2,620MWt |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium, 0.71% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | AtkinsRéalis (Candu Energy) |
| Planned retirement | 2043planned, not actual |
| Owner | Ontario Power Generation Inc100% |
| Operator | Bruce Power |
| Construction start | 1 Dec 1970 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 27 Jul 1976 |
| Grid connection | 4 Sep 1976 |
| Commercial operation | 1 Sep 1977 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Bruce nuclear power plant A2
Bruce nuclear power plant A3
| Reactor type | Pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | CANDU 750A |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 865MW |
| Net capacity | 770MW |
| Thermal output | 2,550MWt |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium, 0.71% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | AtkinsRéalis (Candu Energy) |
| Planned retirement | 2064planned, not actual |
| Owner | Ontario Power Generation Inc100% |
| Operator | Bruce Power |
| Construction start | 1 Jul 1972 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 28 Nov 1977 |
| Grid connection | 12 Dec 1977 |
| Commercial operation | 1 Feb 1978 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Bruce nuclear power plant A3
Bruce nuclear power plant A4
| Reactor type | Pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | CANDU 750A |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 868MW |
| Net capacity | 769MW |
| Thermal output | 2,550MWt |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium, 0.71% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | AtkinsRéalis (Candu Energy) |
| Planned retirement | 2064planned, not actual |
| Owner | Ontario Power Generation Inc100% |
| Operator | Bruce Power |
| Construction start | 1 Sep 1972 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 10 Dec 1978 |
| Grid connection | 21 Dec 1978 |
| Commercial operation | 18 Jan 1979 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Bruce nuclear power plant A4
Bruce nuclear power plant B5
| Reactor type | Pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | CANDU 750B |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 872MW |
| Net capacity | 817MW |
| Thermal output | 2,832MWt |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium, 0.71% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | AtkinsRéalis (Candu Energy) |
| Planned retirement | 2064planned, not actual |
| Owner | Ontario Power Generation Inc100% |
| Operator | Bruce Power |
| Construction start | 31 May 1978 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 14 Nov 1984 |
| Grid connection | 1 Dec 1984 |
| Commercial operation | 28 Feb 1985 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Bruce nuclear power plant B5
Bruce nuclear power plant B6
| Reactor type | Pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | CANDU 750B |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 891MW |
| Net capacity | 817MW |
| Thermal output | 2,690MWt |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium, 0.71% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | AtkinsRéalis (Candu Energy) |
| Planned retirement | 2064planned, not actual |
| Owner | Ontario Power Generation Inc100% |
| Operator | Bruce Power |
| Construction start | 1 Jan 1978 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 29 May 1984 |
| Grid connection | 26 Jun 1984 |
| Commercial operation | 14 Sep 1984 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Bruce nuclear power plant B6
Bruce nuclear power plant B7
| Reactor type | Pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | CANDU 750B |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 872MW |
| Net capacity | 817MW |
| Thermal output | 2,832MWt |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium, 0.71% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | AtkinsRéalis (Candu Energy) |
| Planned retirement | 2064planned, not actual |
| Owner | Ontario Power Generation Inc100% |
| Operator | Bruce Power |
| Construction start | 1 May 1979 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 7 Jan 1986 |
| Grid connection | 22 Feb 1986 |
| Commercial operation | 10 Apr 1986 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Bruce nuclear power plant B7
Bruce nuclear power plant B8
| Reactor type | Pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | CANDU 750B |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 872MW |
| Net capacity | 817MW |
| Thermal output | 2,690MWt |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium, 0.71% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | AtkinsRéalis (Candu Energy) |
| Planned retirement | 2064planned, not actual |
| Owner | Ontario Power Generation Inc100% |
| Operator | Bruce Power |
| Construction start | 30 Jul 1979 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 13 Feb 1987 |
| Grid connection | 7 Mar 1987 |
| Commercial operation | 20 May 1987 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Bruce nuclear power plant B8
Bruce nuclear power plant C1 Announced
| Reactor type | not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Model | not disclosed |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,000MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | not established |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Operator | Bruce Power |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Bruce nuclear power plant C2 Announced
| Reactor type | not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Model | not disclosed |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,000MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | not established |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Operator | Bruce Power |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Bruce nuclear power plant C3 Announced
| Reactor type | not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Model | not disclosed |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,000MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | not established |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Operator | Bruce Power |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Bruce nuclear power plant C4 Announced
| Reactor type | not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Model | not disclosed |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,000MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | not established |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Operator | Bruce Power |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Bruce nuclear power plant in context
By gross operating capacity Bruce nuclear power plant is the 1st largest of 4 operating nuclear sites in Canada, holding 51% of the country's operating capacity, and ranks 1st of 172 worldwide.
Its operating units started up between 1977 and 1987; the median unit is 44.5 years old, older than the median of 41.0 in Canada.
The 8 units with both construction and grid dates on record took 5.4 to 7.6 years (median 6.4) from construction start to grid connection; the median across all reactors connected in the 1980s is 7.3 years.
The nearest other tracked nuclear sites are Pickering nuclear power plant (209 km), Darlington nuclear power plant (234 km) and Darlington New nuclear power plant (235 km).
8 operating units are rated differently now from their design net capacities: Unit A1 +5.7%, Unit A2 +6.1%, Unit A3 +2.7%, Unit A4 +2.5%, Unit B5 -0.6%, Unit B6 -0.6%, Unit B7 -0.6% and Unit B8 +2.8%.
The tracker lists a planned retirement year, a forecast and not a decision on record, for 8 operating units: Unit A1 (2042), Unit A2 (2043), Unit A3 (2064), Unit A4 (2064), Unit B5 (2064), Unit B6 (2064), Unit B7 (2064) and Unit B8 (2064).
Build time by unit
| Unit | Construction start | Grid connection | Years | Fleet median, same decade |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit A2 | 1970 | 1976 | 5.8 | 5.4 (1970s) |
| Unit A1 | 1971 | 1977 | 5.6 | 5.4 (1970s) |
| Unit A3 | 1972 | 1977 | 5.4 | 5.4 (1970s) |
| Unit A4 | 1972 | 1978 | 6.3 | 5.4 (1970s) |
| Unit B6 | 1978 | 1984 | 6.5 | 7.3 (1980s) |
| Unit B5 | 1978 | 1984 | 6.5 | 7.3 (1980s) |
| Unit B7 | 1979 | 1986 | 6.8 | 7.3 (1980s) |
| Unit B8 | 1979 | 1987 | 7.6 | 7.3 (1980s) |
Nearest tracked nuclear sites
| Site | Country | Distance | Operating GW gross |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pickering nuclear power plant | Canada | 209 km | 2.2 |
| Darlington nuclear power plant | Canada | 234 km | 3.7 |
| Darlington New nuclear power plant | Canada | 235 km | - |
How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.
Earthquakes nearby
Loading the latest USGS check…
| Time (UTC) | Mag | Depth | Epicentre | Distance |
|---|
Magnitude 4.0 and above within 200 km of Bruce nuclear power plant's listed coordinates, past 30 days. This is distance, not shaking: it says nothing about damage or any change in operation. Every plant.
| Location | Ontario, Canada |
|---|---|
| Coordinates | 44.3391, -81.5747 |
| Elevation | about 190 mabove sea level |
| Setting | On the shore of a large lake, 0.7 km from the water |
| Region | Northern America |
| Units by status | Operating: 8 Announced: 4 |
Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (SRTM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.
| Owners | Ontario Power Generation Inc |
|---|---|
| Operators | Bruce Power |
Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data