Llynfi nuclear power plant 2
Announced United Kingdom
Gross capacity
20MW
Llynfi nuclear power plant 2 is a pressurised water reactor unit at Llynfi nuclear power plant in United Kingdom rated at 20 MW gross. It is announced.
Specification
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | PWR-20 |
| Size class | Large |
| Coolant | Light water |
| Moderator | Light water |
| Gross capacity | 20MW |
| Net capacity (reference) | not disclosed |
| Net capacity (design) | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Typical enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
Ownership & location
| Site | Llynfi nuclear power plant |
|---|---|
| Unit | 2 |
| Country | United Kingdom |
| Owner | Last Energy100% |
| Coordinates | 51.5707, -3.6126approximate |
Fuel chain for this unit
Fuel form
Uranium dioxide pellets in zirconium-alloy cladding
Enrichment
3–5% U-235
Who makes this assembly
- China National Nuclear Corporation PWR fuel assemblies
- ENUSA Industrias Avanzadas PWR and BWR fuel assemblies
- Framatome PWR fuel assemblies
- KEPCO Nuclear Fuel PWR fuel assemblies
- Mitsubishi Heavy Industries PWR fuel assemblies
- Westinghouse Electric Company PWR fuel assemblies
Upstream
Enriched fuel means this unit sits downstream of five conversion plants and four enrichment operators holding 88% of world capacity between the top three.
Fabricator capability is recorded against reactor type and model line, not against named units —
utilities do not publish fuel contracts. See the fuel chain.
Other units at Llynfi nuclear power plant
| Unit | Status | Gross MW |
|---|---|---|
| Llynfi nuclear power plant 1 | Announced | 20 |
| Llynfi nuclear power plant 3 | Announced | 20 |
| Llynfi nuclear power plant 4 | Announced | 20 |
Other PWR-20 units
15 units worldwide share this model designation.
| Unit | Country | Status | Gross MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Haskell County Last Energy nuclear power plant | United States | Announced | 20 |
| Katowice nuclear power plant 1 | Poland | Announced | 20 |
| Katowice nuclear power plant 10 | Poland | Announced | 20 |
| Katowice nuclear power plant 2 | Poland | Announced | 20 |
| Katowice nuclear power plant 3 | Poland | Announced | 20 |
| Katowice nuclear power plant 4 | Poland | Announced | 20 |
| Katowice nuclear power plant 5 | Poland | Announced | 20 |
| Katowice nuclear power plant 6 | Poland | Announced | 20 |
| Katowice nuclear power plant 7 | Poland | Announced | 20 |
| Katowice nuclear power plant 8 | Poland | Announced | 20 |
| Katowice nuclear power plant 9 | Poland | Announced | 20 |
| Llynfi nuclear power plant 1 | United Kingdom | Announced | 20 |
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release — CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06 · this unit last researched by GEM on 2026-06-30
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) — CC BY-SA 4.0 — linked, not quoted