Isfahan Fuel Manufacturing Plant
Isfahan Fuel Manufacturing Plant is a fabrication facility operated by Atomic Energy Organization of Iran in Iran. Its capacity is not publicly disclosed.
Under IAEA safeguards and operating since 2012, on the same Isfahan site as Iran's conversion plant. It has made natural uranium assemblies for the IR-40 research reactor: 47 assemblies totalling about 102 tonnes to May 2015. No annual capacity is published, so none is given here. Its status is uncertain because the IAEA last had access to the site on 9 June 2025 and has said the operating conditions there and the status of the nuclear material are not known to it.
| Stage | Fabrication |
|---|---|
| Operator | Atomic Energy Organization of Iran |
| Country | Iran |
| Capacity | not disclosed |
| Figure applies to | - |
| Status | uncertain |
| Commissioned | 2012.0 |
| Coordinates | 32.5747, 51.8081 |
No disclosed capacity, so its share of world fabrication capacity cannot be stated.
Atomic Energy Organization of Iran also operates:
- Isfahan Uranium Conversion Facility (conversion)
- Natanz Fuel Enrichment Plant (enrichment)
- Fordow Fuel Enrichment Plant (enrichment)
Other fabrication facilities
| Facility | Capacity | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Cameco Fuel Manufacturing, Port Hope | 1,650tHM/yr | operating |
| Columbia Fuel Fabrication Facility | 1,600tHM/yr | operating |
| Elektrostal (MSZ) | 1,560tHM/yr | operating |
| Romans-sur-Isère (FBFC) | 1,400tHM/yr | operating |
| Richland | 1,200tHM/yr | operating |
| Novosibirsk Chemical Concentrates Plant | 1,200tHM/yr | operating |
| Toronto and Peterborough | 1,200tHM/yr | operating |
| Wilmington | 1,000tHM/yr | operating |
| Nuclear Fuel Complex, Hyderabad | 1,000tHM/yr | operating |
| Daejeon | 900tHM/yr | operating |
| Västerås | 800tHM/yr | operating |
| Yibin (CJNF) | 800tHM/yr | operating |
| Lingen (ANF) | 650tHM/yr | operating |
| Kurihama (GNF-J) | 630tHM/yr | operating |
| Springfields | 600tHM/yr | operating |
| Juzbado | 500tHM/yr | operating |
| Nuclear Fuel Complex, Kota | 500tHM/yr | operating |
| Tokai-Mura (Mitsubishi Nuclear Fuel) | 440tHM/yr | operating |
| Baotou (CBNF) | 400tHM/yr | operating |
| Kumatori (NFI) | 284tHM/yr | operating |
| Tokai-Mura (NFI) | 250tHM/yr | operating |
| Pitești | 250tHM/yr | operating |
| Baotou (CNNFC) | 246tHM/yr | operating |
| Resende | 240tHM/yr | operating |
| Ust-Kamenogorsk (ULBA) | 200tHM/yr | operating |
| Ezeiza and Córdoba (Conuar) | 200tHM/yr | operating |
| Melox, Marcoule | 195tHM/yr | operating |
| J-MOX, Rokkasho | 130tHM/yr | construction |
| Sellafield MOX Plant | 120tHM/yr | shut down |
| Zheleznogorsk MOX plant | 60tHM/yr | operating |
Sources
- International Atomic Energy Agency, Board of Governors reports on safeguards in Iran · retrieved 2026-09-06
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data