Oklo nuclear power plant 2
Gross capacity
75MW
Oklo nuclear power plant 2 is a fast reactor unit at Oklo nuclear power plant in United States rated at 75 MW gross. It is pre-construction.
Specification
| Reactor type | Fast reactor (FBR) |
|---|---|
| Model | Aurora |
| Size class | Large |
| Coolant | Liquid sodium or lead |
| Moderator | None |
| Gross capacity | 75MW |
| Net capacity (reference) | not disclosed |
| Net capacity (design) | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Typical enrichment | 15–20% fissile, or plutonium |
Ownership & location
| Site | Oklo nuclear power plant |
|---|---|
| Unit | 2 |
| Country | United States |
| Coordinates | 39.0127, -83.0008 |
Fuel chain for this unit
Fuel form
Mixed oxide or metallic fuel
Enrichment
15–20% fissile, or plutonium
Who makes this assembly
- TVEL Fuel Company Fast reactor fuel, including MOX
Upstream
Enriched fuel means this unit sits downstream of five conversion plants and four enrichment operators holding 88% of world capacity between the top three.
Fabricator capability is recorded against reactor type and model line, not against named units —
utilities do not publish fuel contracts. See the fuel chain.
Other units at Oklo nuclear power plant
| Unit | Status | Gross MW |
|---|---|---|
| Oklo nuclear power plant 1 | Pre-construction | 75 |
Other Aurora units
7 units worldwide share this model designation.
| Unit | Country | Status | Gross MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aurora nuclear power plant 1 | United States | Pre-construction | 75 |
| Aurora nuclear power plant Microreactor | United States | Cancelled | 2 |
| Eielson Air Force Base nuclear power plant | United States | Pre-construction | 5 |
| Oklo nuclear power plant 1 | United States | Pre-construction | 75 |
| Southern Ohio Diversification Initiative nuclear power plant 1 | United States | Pre-construction | 15 |
| Southern Ohio Diversification Initiative nuclear power plant 2 | United States | Pre-construction | 15 |
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release — CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06 · this unit last researched by GEM on 2026-07-08
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) — CC BY-SA 4.0 — linked, not quoted